via Daily Prompt: Cur

I have mentioned on several occasions that I have had an extremely enjoyable life.

Yeah, I know. Our birth father was an abusive person. He drank too much, worked too little, and pretty much beat the tar out of us, nearly to the point of crippling us. But that was rage, and few knew how to handle that during the 50’s.

The 60’s got much better, except for the Juvenile Hall thing. But after that I got to go to a foster home that was total awesome. I learned to live with six brothers and seven sisters, and integrate into a normal lifestyle. The 70’s took me to war, and then home again, where I started to college in 1975.

We bought our first house in 1977 with the birth of my son, and the day we moved into it my daughter fell off the loading ramp right onto her head. She was only two and a half, but it must have helped because she learned to read by her third birthday. That was also the year their mother started her first job, and a babysitter became a necessity. I drank my own share back then, and probably enough drugs for a few people, but things were very good. In ’78 I met Scotty Luhm, a musician and vocalist through the job I had, and we became best of friends. His daughter was the same age as mine and he recommended a gal, Lori, as a babysitter whenever I needed one. Even though Lori was only seventeen at the time, she was very good with the kids. Besides, she liked the idea that I always had a half a pound of coke laying out, and a few pounds of weed. So one day I get a call in 1979 asking if she could bring someone by for some weed, and I was concerned as to who it was. She said it was another gal that she babysat for down in Tustin; two kids, stressful situation, possible marriage break-up thing, but Lori didn’t have a car and the lady did. I finally said okay, and they showed up a half hour later.

Well it’s enough to say that this woman became my second wife, but that was still ten years down the road. We did date for the next year though, and she had a couple of girlfriends that had just finished the Blade Runner movie with Harrison Ford. As dancers, they were the two girls in the cages when the camera went into the bar. Having the summer off, we went the Mary’s place in LA to visit on an occasion when Claeli was going to be there as well. I was on my best behavior because these gals were extremely pretty…I mean beautiful, with these perfect bodies. She had a large porch facing east and in the afternoon it provided wonderful shade and had several chairs and swings all around. I was pretty quiet during the visit, and not just because I can’t dance, but I can’t sing or do much else either. Claeli was from Greece and Mary from the Ukraine, and when dinner was ready Claeli came out to call us in.

Mary leading the way, I was the last to get near the door. But as I looked over my shoulder, a cur, and I mean the ugliest dog I had ever seen, scampered up the steps and was rushing towards us. I called out to Mary regarding this, and Sandy did her best to stifle me, interrupting and saying, ‘Oh Mary, it’s your little baby’. To which Mary returned to the doorway, bending down, and picked this disgusting thing up. Okay, I did say it out loud, the ugliest dog I had ever seen. Needless to say, I did not get invited to the production of Captain EO when Michael Jackson worked with the dance troupe, of which Mary and Claeli were two of the cast.

One thought on “via Daily Prompt: Cur

Leave a comment